You are here > Home> About NICNET/UPSWAN


National Informatics Centre (NIC) is a premiere S & T institution of the Government of India, established in 1976, for providing e-Government / e- Governance Solutions adopting best practices, integrated services and global solutions in Government Sector. In 1975, the Government of India strategically decided to take effective steps for the development of information systems and utilization of information resources and also for introducing computer based decision support system (informatics-led development) in government ministries and departments to facilitate planning and programme implementation to further the growth of economic and social development. Following this, the Central Government nucleated a high priority plan project "National Informatics Centre (NIC)" in 1976, and later on with the financial assistance of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) to the tune of US$4.4 million.

UPSWAN is one of the major Projects to boost IT/Network infrastructure in the State to be implemented soon. It is one of the 27 Projects under National e-Governance Plan (NeGP). UPSWAN will have the distinction of a state owned network providing all three services - Data, Video & Voice (IP based). The project is funded by DIT. NIC is the implementing agency for UPSWAN. In addition to the National e-Governance projects, UPSWAN can also be used for education, telemedicine, training to Government officials etc. Some of the key application areas identified for UPSWAN are -

  • Treasury Online a G2G & G2C application
  • Lokvani
  • Land Records Computerisation
  • Transport Computerisation
  • Rural Development
  • Panchayati Raj
  • Police, etc

Features :-

  • A backbone network to provide connectivity right upto the village level
  • Internet Ready Blocks, Tehsils & Districts
  • NIC is the implementation agency in UP
  • Interconnection with NICís satellite based Network (NICNET)
  • Capable to handle high volume high speed throughput of 34/8/2 Mbps.

 

Details Of NIC-NET Engineers

Center Name Name Contacts E-Mail
District HQ Jitendra Singh 7505201145 nfe2.kn.up[at]nic[dot]in
District HQ Awnish Chandel 9336444425 nfe1.kn.up[at]nic[dot]in

Details Of UP-SWAN Engineers

POP Name Name Contacts E-Mail
District HQ Amit Kumar Singh (Team Leader) 9532116155 amit.singh45[at]wipro[dot]com
District HQ Durgesh Shukla 8127028031 durgesh.shukla[at]wipro[dot]com
Tehsil Bilhaur Ashish Gupta 8009909617 ashish.gupta27[at]wipro[dot]com
Tehsil Ghatampur Devesh Dixit 9450936620 devesh.dixit[at]wipro[dot]com
Block Chaubepur Krishna Kumar Pandey 9956847770 krishna.pandey[at]wipro[dot]com
Block Kakwan Akbar Ali 9616214063 akbar.ali1[at]wipro[dot]com
Block Shivrajpur Ajay Singh 8081186095 ajay.singh15[at]wipro[dot]com
Block Bheetargaon Prem Prakash Pandey 8543833519 prem.pandey2[at]wipro[dot]com
Block Patara Radhe Mohan Tripathi 9453856086 radhe.tripathi[at]wipro[dot]com
Block Kalyanpur Dhanesh Shukla 9839067751 dhanesh.shukla[at]wipro[dot]com
Block Sarsaul Zia UR Rahman 9670773322 zia.rahman[at]wipro[dot]com
Block Vidhnoo Saurabh Kumar Dixit 9936214851 saurabh.dixit2[at]wipro[dot]com